Shop PreK-12 Collections by Category:

Shop by Program:


ISBN-10: 0545106087
ISBN-13: 9780545106085
Author: Wiles, Deborah
Interest Level: 4-8
Publisher: Scholastic

Publication Date: May 2017

Copyright: 2014

Page Count: 544

Series: The Sixties Trilogy

Icon Add to Wish List Icon Add to Cart
Your Name:
Your Email:
Friend's Email:

Interest Level

Grades 4-8

Reading Level

Lexile: 840L
Accelerated Reader Level: 5.2
Accelerated Reader Points: 16.0

BISAC Subjects

JUVENILE FICTION / Family / General (see also headings under Social Themes)

JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship

It's 1964, and Sunny's town is being invaded. Or at least that's what the adults of Greenwood, Mississippi are saying. All Sunny knows is that people from up north are coming to help people register to vote. They're calling it Freedom Summer. Meanwhile, Sunny can't help but feel like her house is being invaded, too. She has a new stepmother, a new brother, and a new sister crowding her life, giving her little room to breathe. And things get even trickier when Sunny and her brother are caught sneaking into the local swimming pool -- where they bump into a mystery boy whose life is going to become tangled up in theirs. As she did in her groundbreaking documentary novel COUNTDOWN award-winning author Deborah Wiles uses stories and images to tell the riveting story of a certain time and place -- and of kids who, in a world where everyone is choosing sides, must figure out how to stand up for themselves and fight for what's right.
Find This And Other Titles Like It In The Following Collections… See All

60s Trilogy, The

Complete Starter Grade 5 Library

Complete Starter Grade 6 Library

Complete Starter Grade 8 Library

Genre Historical Fiction Grade 5

View More